Jan Ulenbrook (ed.)

The book of classic haiku

Year of publication: 2018

Hardcover, 9,6 x 15,2 cm, 319 pages
Reclam 2018, ISBN 978-3-15-011175-8.

The book has at least 3 precursors: 2 at Reclam with 278 pages (Universal-Bibliothek 9400, 1995) and 280 pages (do, 2004). The earliest edition known to me is from 1979: Heyne Poetry No. 11. (Peter Rudolf)

Capacity:

Further information

Text samples, tables of contents, bibliographical information, sources of supply (not all elements available at the same time)

Selection, translation and epilogue by Jan Ulenbrook. Follow-up by Volker Probst.
There are four haiku on each side. Ordered according to the 5 seasons, starting with the New Year.

review

"To write Haiku, become a child three feet tall." So says Bashō, the old master of this form of poem. Because the goal of haiku poetry, to express the fleeting mood of a moment in the concise form of a three-liner, can only be achieved through the simplicity of the language and a mind that is completely devoted to the immediate sensory perception.
The anthology covers the subject areas spring - summer - autumn - winter (and New Year) according to the seasons. With Bashō, its predecessors, students and successors, it unites the most important poets in Japan and, with almost 1000 haiku, is the most extensive edition on the German book market. Jan Ulenbrook's translations retain the strict form to adequately reproduce these linguistic works of art. (Publisher Reclam)

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Jan Ulenbrook (Hg.)

Das Buch der klassischen Haiku

Erscheinungsjahr: 2018

Hardcover, 9,6 x 15,2 cm, 319 Seiten
Reclam 2018, ISBN 978-3-15-011175-8.

Das Buch hat mindestens 3 Vorläufer: 2 bei Reclam mit 278 Seiten (Universal-Bibliothek 9400, 1995) und 280 Seiten (do, 2004). Die früheste mir bekannte Ausgabe ist aus dem Jahr 1979: Heyne Lyrik Nr. 11. (Peter Rudolf)

Inhalt:

Weitere Informationen

Textproben, Inhaltsverzeichnisse, Bibliographische Angaben, Bezugsquellen (Nicht alle Elemente gleichzeitig vorhanden)

Auswahl, Üersetzung und Nachwort von Jan Ulenbrook. Nachbemerkung von Volker Probst.
Je vier Haiku stehen auf einer Seite. Geordnet nach den 5 Jahreszeiten, beginnend mit dem Neujahr.

Rezension

»Um Haiku zu schreiben, werde ein drei Fuß großes Kind.« So sagt Bashō, der Altmeister dieser Gedichtform. Denn das Ziel der Haiku-Dichtung, die flüchtige Stimmung eines Augenblicks in der knappen Form eines Dreizeilers zum Ausdruck zu bringen, lässt sich nur erreichen durch Schlichtheit der Sprache und ein Gemüt, das sich der unmittelbaren Sinneswahrnehmung ganz hingibt.
Die Anthologie umfasst, den Jahreszeiten folgend, die Themenkreise Frühling – Sommer – Herbst – Winter (und Neujahr). Sie vereint mit Bashō, seinen Vorgängern, Schülern und Nachfolgern die bedeutendsten Dichter Japans und ist mit fast 1000 Haiku die umfangreichste Ausgabe auf dem deutschen Buchmarkt. Die Übersetzungen von Jan Ulenbrook bewahren die strenge Form, um diese Sprachkunstwerke adäquat wiederzugeben. (Verlag Reclam)

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.