Christof Blumentrath & Gabriele Hartmann, bon-say-Verlag

The white album - Renhai

Year of publication: 2020

2020 in bon-say-Verlag, 48 pages, natural paper, 21 x 21 cm, hardcover, thread binding, ISBN 978-3-945890-34-9, 14 €
only available from bon-say-Verlag

Capacity:

Further information

Text samples, tables of contents, bibliographical information, sources of supply (not all elements available at the same time)

30 reindeer sharks and 11 photographs
The Beatles' white album was the inspiration for the book of the same name with Renhai by Christof Blumentrath & Gabriele.
The respective song title (T) finds its place as the first line of the second verse. The first author writes both the first (three-line) verse and the second line of the second (two-line) verse. Then the second author writes the (three-line) final verse. A headline was deliberately omitted ... but that is not much more than dry words that describe the process of writing. The two authors were inspired by the song lyrics and yet interpreted them freely.

review

Beate Conrad writes in her
Feature on chrysanthemum.com on October 28, 2020

The white album - a review

Christof Blumentrath & Gabriele Hartmann: The white album. 30 Renhai and 11 photographs. Natural paper. 21 x 21 cm. Hardcover. Thread binding. bon-say-verlag Höchstenbach, 2020. 48 pages. 14 €. ISBN: 978-3-9458 90-34-9. www.bon-say.de
Chain poems, i.e. community poems, are the original source of haiku, especially Tanrenga 1. Their development in ancient Japan was complicated, but also popular. So it is hardly surprising that up to our day not only the haiku goes through changes, but also the community poetry. After all, it is usually the form that virtually challenges changes. And that applies to all areas of art.
In 1992 the American Garry Gay developed the Rengay2 with the aim of creating a simplified and shorter form of the Renku poetry with six verses with comparatively manageable rules of association. Topics for this type of community poetry can arise during the writing process, but can also be determined beforehand. The rengay spread relatively quickly in the west as one of the most popular forms of community poetry.
In Renhai2007, developed by the Canadian Vaughn Seward and the Russian Zhanna P. Rader in 3 from the Rengay, the number of stanzas has been halved. Unlike usual, the middle verse now specifies the direction of construction, which is written by two people and each supplemented with a haikuver. The same linkage rules are used here as in the Rengay, but now forward and back references are allowed and even forced. In this composition the middle verse has a centering function. This results on the one hand in the usual progression within the verses and on the other hand in the emphasized haiku character of the reindeer as an overall unit with many cross-connections around the central theme.
With “The White Album” Christof Blumentrath & Gabriele Hartmann present thirty Renhai and eleven photographs they took themselves in book form, for which the Beatles4 album of the same name provided the theme. Even on the outside, the aesthetics of the albums overlap with that of the Far Eastern Haikai in black and white restraint. The haikuesk-minimalist black and white pictures of the two authors give their condensed words a visually reinforcing dimension.
In addition to the literary form of Renhai, the structure of the content obviously borrowed from the Beatles album. Because Hartmann and Blumentrath not only chose the same title for their book, but also adopted the thirty song titles for their poems. In other words, every single title was quoted in the central line of every Renhais and even highlighted graphically. Such a quote becomes a continuous stylistic element, the sequence and number of poems in the book in turn corresponding to the sequence and number of songs on the Beatles album.
The two authors dare a cross-disciplinary “remix”, not in visible notes and audible melodies, but in the form of the poetic song and the accompanying photography. Anyone who knows the lyrics of the Beatles album well and still has them in their ears will notice in many places how their contents overlap with the new, jointly composed miniatures, how they assert themselves and merge. Just as the poems contradict them, break away from them and take their own turns. Not to forget the diverse connections that, typical of a chain seal, challenge the reader to discover and decipher them.
The reader, who is less or not familiar with Beatles music, will find poetry that stands for itself, which is genre-appropriately shaped by everyday experiences and the poetic perspectives of the authors. He will only want to discover the adopted structure of the Beatles album and its implications as secondary, since it is mentioned at the end of the book.
The following Renhai clearly shows - in addition to the central title line - and naturally also associative points of reference to the lyrics. Nevertheless, the reader is not simply served "the Beatles on Renhai". The respective song, although its title is externally central to the topic, is not a necessary decoding tool. But it enriches and deepens by contributing to the complexity of the collaborative short poem sequence in accordance with the genre. In the following poem, the song subliminally underlines the transition from playfulness to the more enticing seriousness of life with its repeating choir in the morning dream mood as time progresses:
seven o'clock in the morning
the sun tears the ceiling
from the city
Dear Prudence
her flowing hair
caught
in the skyline - we think
our dream is over
CB T CB GH
It turns out that community poetry is by no means purely for social entertainment. Rather, they promote one's own discipline, linguistic expression and understanding of form within the framework and genre set. At the same time, it indicates the spontaneity and skill of those involved. The penultimate Renhai - my number one among the thirty Renhai - takes z. For example, the mood of the experimental sound collage of the same name, which reflects the '68 Fluxus zeitgeist, is unique in its own way, but it is translated into a culturally and historically different visual language with a rich scenic representation. The result is a balanced poem, where the beginning and end point fall into one:
the way i turn
and turn: Satan stares
from the mirror
Revolution 9
just keep going, Ms. Lot
there!
a thread of tinsel
in the Easter fire
GH T GH CB
Through the relationships and implicit connections in the direction of reading, including that of verse one to three and back, a “panta rhei” of the powers emerges in this poem like a mirror in the mirror, what the Far Eastern view of the fleeting, of constant becoming and passing away corresponds entirely.
Collages, crossovers, including sampling and “remixes”, whether within a discipline or interdisciplinary, are typical of our time, but not easy. Because they should be kept in the spirit of the original and still have their own signature. In the present case, ideally both are combined in the form of different reading levels, title quotations and allusions.
The white album by Gabriele Hartmann and Christof Blumentrath delivers something that lies in the contradictions of every remix art: namely an independent quotation. And this has been implemented skilfully here, so that the selected narrow form is not only disciplined, but also revitalizes its content with something new and expands it to deeper insight. The end result is a lively combination of revitalized and new content, underlaid with audio and visual effects.
__________
[1] Tan: short, ren: chain, ga / ka: song, poetry.
[2] Ren: chain, here abbreviation for chain seal; -gay: the last name of the inventor Garry Gay.
[3] Ren: chain, abbreviation for chain seal; hai: short for haiku.
The white album is the unofficial but common name of the November 4 released double album by the Beatles. An album with 1968 songs, kept simple in white and labeled with your name. Although commercially successful, the Beatles album is not so much the usual concert or concept album as a relaxed and diversely discussed song compilation of various, individualistic musical styles, some of which were ahead of their time, but which also marked the end of the Beatles' creative period as a music band.
Sources:
Garry Gay on Rengay, North Carolina Haiku Society, 2006, online: https://www.nchaiku.org/pdf/RengayWriting.pdf
Vaughn Seward: Renhai, a New Verse Form, Frogpond 32.2, 2009, online: http://www.hsa-haiku.org/frogpond/2009-issue32-2/essay.html

***

Brigitte ten Brink writes:

The Beatles' only double album, released in November 1968 and also called The White Album because of its plain white cover. A mix of many different styles of music and the beginning of their divergence. Even if the album was very successful commercially, not all of the songs corresponded to the listening habits of some Beatles fans at that time (and maybe still today), the songs were too randomly arranged according to the previously released concept albums "Seargent Pepper" and "Magical Mystery Tour" .

Now it's in front of me - The white album, not on vinyl, but in book form. Square white with black lines reminiscent of sonagrams. The title and the names of the authors are kept in red.

Gabriele Hartmann (GH) and Christof Blumentrath (CB) wrote Renhai together, thirty in number, with the titles of the thirty songs on the album as the respective starting line of the second verse (T) with which a Renhai always begins. One of the authors (GH or CB) wrote the second line of the starting verse and the first verse, the other completed the third verse.

cold War
the scattered villages
snow covered

Back in the USSR
not melted yet: the snow

Look over
bogged down on the shore
his paper boat

GH T GH CB

Do you have to know the songs now to like this book? Do you have to have the melodies and lyrics in your ear? The answer is a clear no". The threads that Gabriele Hartmann and Christof Blumentrath spin around the song titles and weave into completely new texts stand for themselves.

I also didn't know most of the songs on this album because I've never heard through the entire album. Out of curiosity, I then downloaded and read all the lyrics of the album from the Internet. If you want, you can discover associative links to the songs in the Renhai. The Beatles, or John Lennon as the author, quote "Strawberryfields" and other songs in the song "Glass Onion". I personally found the strawberry fields as "endless fields / in changing red" (GH). And in the last verse, whoever holds “his last piece of the puzzle” (CB) in his hands has put together the song with all of its allusions:

endless fields
in iridescent red
the 7th universe

Glass onion
now broken: time and space

rotated twice
his last piece of the puzzle
Evening twilight

GH T GH CB

No background knowledge is required to enjoy the reindeer shark of this book. It is not necessary to work your way through this Beatles work to enjoy it or to be amazed, as Gabriele Hartmann and Christof Blumentrath have always managed to spin their own works around the song titles.

However, I assume that the two of them listened to the album and were also inspired by the music, especially the songs, which do not have much textual content, such as: B. "Revolution 9" and "Good Night", the last two tracks on the album. "Revolution 9" is an experimental sound collage, a musical inferno with spoken scraps of text. This became one of my favorite reindeer sharks in this book:

the way i turn
and turn: Satan stares
from the mirror

Revolution 9
just keep going, Ms. Lot

there!
a thread of tinsel
in the Easter fire

GH T GH CB

And the title of the Lullaby "Good Night, Sleep Tight" inspired the reindeer shark

Sommerabend
her body smells
after horse

Good Night
kissed on the forehead

the crown
the heavenly ladder crowns
a horseshoe moon

CB T CB GH

Touch this Renhai by Gabriele Hartmann and Christof Blumentrath by leaving space for your own imagination and space for your own personal feeling, because the meaning of a text develops and arises during its reception.

And don't just touch the Renhai. The artistic photographs in gray tones, surrealistically abstract subjects by Gabriele Hartmann and almost unreal snow images by Christof Blumentrath, fascinate as cool and mysterious companions of the stories captured in the Renhai.

Rudiger Jung writes:

The co-authors have been a well-established team in the writing of Renhai since 2016, but also Tan-Renga, Renga, Haiga. Among the previous Renhai, which Gabriele Hartmann wrote with various lyrical partners, this volume stands out due to the number of texts (30!) And the sophisticated bibliophile design. Impressive, sometimes puzzling pictures in black and white enter into a stimulating trialogue with the underlying music pieces and the printed partner seals.

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Christof Blumentrath & Gabriele Hartmann, bon-say-verlag

Das weiße Album – Renhai

Erscheinungsjahr: 2020

2020 im bon-say-verlag, 48 Seiten, Naturpapier, 21 x 21 cm, Hardcover, Fadenbindung, ISBN 978-3-945890-34-9, 14 €
nur zu beziehen im bon-say-verlag

Inhalt:

Weitere Informationen

Textproben, Inhaltsverzeichnisse, Bibliographische Angaben, Bezugsquellen (Nicht alle Elemente gleichzeitig vorhanden)

30 Renhai und 11 Fotografien
Das weiße Album der Beatles stand Pate für das gleichnamige Buch mit Renhai von Christof Blumentrath & Gabriele.
Der jeweilige Song-Titel (T) findet seinen Platz als erste Zeile des zweiten Verses. Der erste Autor verfasst sowohl den ersten (dreizeiligen) Vers als auch die zweite Zeile des zweiten (zweizeiligen) Verses. Danach schreibt der zweite Autor den (dreizeiligen) Abschlussvers. Auf eine Überschrift wurde bewusst verzichtet … doch auch das sind nicht viel mehr als trockene Worte, die den Prozess des Schreibens beschreiben. Die beiden Autoren ließen sich von den Song-Texten inspirieren und haben diese doch frei interpretiert.

Rezension

Beate Conrad schreibt in ihrem
Feature auf chrysanthemum.com am 28 im Oktober 2020

Das weiße Album – eine Rezension

Christof Blumentrath & Gabriele Hartmann: Das weiße Album. 30 Renhai und 11 Fotografien. Naturpapier. 21 x 21 cm. Hardcover. Fadenbindung. bon-say-verlag Höchstenbach, 2020. 48 Seiten. 14 €. ISBN: 978-3-9458 90-34-9. www.bon-say.de
Kettengedichte, also Gemeinschaftsdichtungen, bilden die Urquelle des Haiku, insbesondere das Tanrenga 1. Deren Entwicklung im alten Japan war kompliziert, aber auch beliebt. So verwundert es kaum, dass bis in unsere Tage hinein nicht nur das Haiku Wandlungen durchmacht, sondern ebenfalls die Gemeinschaftsdichtung. Ist es doch meistens die Form, die Veränderungen geradezu herausfordert. Und das gilt für alle Bereiche der Kunst.
1992 entwickelte der Amerikaner Garry Gay das Rengay2 mit dem Ziel, eine vereinfachte und kürzere Form der Renkudichtung mit sechs Versen zu schaffen bei vergleichsweise überschaubaren Verknüpfungsregeln. Themen für diese Art der Gemeinschaftsdichtung können sich im Schreibablauf ergeben, aber ebenso zuvor festgelegt werden. Das Rengay verbreitete sich relativ schnell im Westen als eine der beliebtesten Formen der Gemeinschaftsdichtung.
Bei dem von dem Kanadier Vaughn Seward und der Russin Zhanna P. Rader in 2007 aus dem Rengay entwickelten Renhai3 ist die Anzahl der Strophen halbiert. Anders als sonst üblich, gibt nun der Mittelvers die Aufbaurichtung vor, der von zwei Personen geschrieben und mit jeweils einem Haikuvers ergänzt wird. Dabei werden die gleichen Verknüpfungsregeln wie beim Rengay eingesetzt, wobei nun aber Vor- und Rückbezüge erlaubt und sogar forciert sind. In dieser Komposition besitzt der Mittelvers eine zentrierende Funktion. So ergibt sich einerseits das übliche Fortschreiten innerhalb der Verse und andererseits der betonte Haikucharakter des Renhais als eine Gesamteinheit mit vielen Querverbindungen um das zentral gesetzte Thema.
Mit „Das weiße Album“ stellen Christof Blumentrath & Gabriele Hartmann dreißig Renhai und elf selbst aufgenommene Fotografien in Buchform vor, für das das gleichnamige Album der Beatles4 Themengeber war. Schon rein äußerlich überschneidet sich die Ästhetik der Alben mit der fernöstlichen des Haikai in schwarzweißer Zurückhaltung. Die haikuesk-minimalistisch reduzierten Schwarzweißbilder der beiden Autoren verleihen ihren verdichteten Worten eine visuell verstärkende Dimension.
Zur literarischen Form des Renhai gesellt sich die dem Beatles-Album betont offensichtlich entliehene inhaltliche Struktur. Denn Hartmann und Blumentrath wählten nicht nur den gleichen Titel für ihr Buch, sondern übernahmen ebenfalls die dreißig Songtitel für ihre Gedichte. D. h., jeder einzelne Titel wurde in der zentralen Zeile eines jeden Renhais zitiert und sogar graphisch hervorgehoben. Das derartige Zitat wird zu einem durchgehenden Stilelement, wobei die Abfolge und Anzahl der Gedichte im Buch wiederum der Songabfolge und -anzahl des Beatles-Albums entspricht.
Die beiden Autoren wagen einen disziplinübergreifenden „Remix“, nicht in sichtbaren Noten und hörbaren Melodien, sondern in Form des poetischen Lieds und der begleitenden Fotografie. Wer die Songtexte des Beatles-Albums gut kennt, sie noch im Ohr hat, wird an vielen Stellen bemerken, wie sich deren Inhalte mit den neuen, gemeinsam gedichteten Miniaturen überlagern, sie durchsetzen und verschmelzen. Wie die Gedichte ihnen aber auch widersprechen, sich von ihnen lösen und eigene Wendungen nehmen. Nicht zu vergessen, die vielfältigen Verbindungen, die, typisch für eine Kettendichtung, den Leser herausfordern, sie zu entdecken und zu entschlüsseln.
Der Leser, der weniger oder nicht mit der Beatles-Musik vertraut ist, wird eine für sich stehende Lyrik vorfinden, die genre-gemäß von dem Alltagserleben und den poetischen Sichtweisen der Autoren geprägt ist. Er wird erst zweitrangig die übernommene Struktur des Beatles-Albums und deren Implikationen entdecken wollen, da sie am Buchende immerhin erwähnt wird.
Das nachfolgende Renhai lässt deutlich – neben der zentralen Titelzeile – und ganz natürlich auch assoziative Anknüpfungspunkte an den Songtext durchblicken. Dennoch bekommt der Leser nicht einfach „die Beatles auf Renhai“ serviert. Der jeweilige Song, obwohl sein Titel äußerlich zentraler Themengeber ist, stellt kein notwendiges Entschlüsselungswerkzeug dar. Aber er bereichert und vertieft, indem er ganz genre-gemäß zur Vielschichtigkeit der kollaborativen Kurzgedichtfolge beiträgt. Im nachfolgenden Gedicht untermalt der Song unterschwellig mit seinem wiederholenden Chor in der Morgentraumstimmung mit dem Fortschreiten der Zeit den Übergang des Spielerischen hin zum verfänglicheren Ernst des Lebens:
sieben Uhr früh
die Sonne reißt die Decke
von der Stadt
Dear Prudence
ihr wehendes Haar
verfangen
in der Skyline — wir denken
unsern Traum zu Ende
CB T CB GH
Es zeigt sich, daß Gemeinschaftsdichtungen keinesfalls rein der geselligen Unterhaltung dienen. Sie fördern vielmehr die eigene Disziplin, das sprachliche Ausdrucksvermögen und das Formverständnis innerhalb des gesetzten Rahmens und Genres. Zugleich deutet sich in ihr die Spontanität und das Können der Beteiligten an. Das vorletzte Renhai – meine Nummer eins unter den dreißig Renhai – nimmt z. B. auf ganz eigene Weise die Stimmung der gleichnamigen experimentellen Klangcollage auf, die den 68er Fluxus-Zeitgeist widerspiegelt, übersetzt sie jedoch in eine kulturhistorisch andersartige Bildersprache mit reichhaltiger szenischer Darstellung. Es entsteht ein ausgewogenes Gedicht, wo Anfangs- und Endpunkt in eins fallen:
wie ich mich drehe
und wende: Satan starrt
aus dem Spiegel
Revolution 9
geht einfach weiter, Frau Lot
dort!
ein Faden Lametta
im Osterfeuer
GH T GH CB
Durch die Beziehungen und impliziten Verknüpfungen in Leserichtung, einschließlich der von Vers eins nach drei und zurück betrachtet, ergibt sich in diesem Gedicht ein „panta rhei“ der Mächte durch die Zeiten wie ein Spiegel im Spiegel, was fernöstlicher Anschauung des Flüchtigen, des ständigen Werdens und Vergehens durchaus entspricht.
Collagen, Crossover, auch Sampling und „Remixe“, ob innerhalb einer Disziplin oder auch interdisziplinär, sind für unsere Zeit typisch, aber nicht leicht. Denn sie sollten im Geist des Originals gehalten sein und trotzdem eine eigene Handschrift tragen. Im vorliegenden Fall verbindet sich idealerweise beides in Form der verschiedenen Leseebenen, Titelzitate und Anspielungen.
Das weiße Album von Gabriele Hartmann und Christof Blumentrath liefert etwas, das in der Widersprüchlichkeit einer jeden Remix-Kunst liegt: nämlich ein eigenständiges Zitatwerk. Und das ist hier durchaus gekonnt umgesetzt, so dass die gewählte enge Form nicht nur diszipliniert, sondern gleichermaßen seinen Gehalt mit Neuem belebt und zu tieferer Einsicht erweitert. Das Endergebnis ist eine spritzige Kombination aus wiederbelebten und neuen Inhalten, unterlegt mit audialen und visuellen Effekten.
__________
[1] Tan: kurz, ren: Kette, ga/ka: Lied, Dichtung.
[2] Ren: Kette, hier Kürzel für Kettendichtung; -gay: der Nachname des Erfinders Garry Gay.
[3] Ren: Kette, Kürzel für Kettendichtung; hai: kurz für Haiku.
[4] Das weiße Album ist der inoffizielle, aber gängige Name des im November 1968 veröffentlichen Doppelalbum der Beatles. Ein Album mit 30 Songs, schlicht in weiß gehalten und mit ihrem Namen versehen. Obgleich kommerziell erfolgreich, verbirgt sich hinter dem Beatles-Album weniger das gewohnte Konzert- oder Konzeptalbum als vielmehr eine lockere und divers diskutierte Song-Zusammenstellung verschiedenster, individualistisch geprägter Musikstile, die teils ihrer Zeit voraus waren, die allerdings auch das Ende der Schaffensperiode der Beatles als Musikband erahnen ließ.
Quellen:
Garry Gay on Rengay, North Carolina Haiku Society, 2006, online: https://www.nchaiku.org/pdf/RengayWriting.pdf
Vaughn Seward: Renhai, a New Verse Form, Frogpond 32.2, 2009, online: http://www.hsa-haiku.org/frogpond/2009-issue32-2/essay.html

***

Brigitte ten Brink schreibt:

Das einzige Doppelalbum der Beatles, erschienen im November 1968 und wegen seines schlichten weißen Covers auch The White Album, „Das Weiße Album“ genannt. Ein Mix aus vielen verschiedenen Musikstilen und der Beginn ihres Auseinanderlebens. Auch wenn das Album kommerziell sehr erfolgreich war, nicht alle Songs entsprachen den Hörgewohnheiten einiger damaliger (und vielleicht auch noch heutiger) Beatles-Fans, zu scheinbar willkürlich aneinandergereiht waren die Songs nach den zuvor erschienenen Konzeptalben „Seargent Pepper“ und „Magical Mystery Tour“.

Nun liegt es vor mir – Das weiße Album, nicht auf Vinyl, sondern in Buchform. Quadratisch weiß mit schwarzen Linien, die an Sonagramme erinnern. Der Titel und die Autorennamen sind rot gehalten.

Gabriele Hartmann (GH) und Christof Blumentrath(CB) haben miteinander Renhai geschrieben, dreißig an der Zahl, mit den Titeln der dreißig auf dem Album enthaltenen Songs als jeweilige Startzeile des zweiten Verses (T), mit dem ein Renhai immer beginnt. Einer der Autoren (GH bzw. CB) schrieb die zweite Zeile des Startverses sowie den ersten Vers, der andere ergänzte den dritten Vers.

kalter Krieg
die verstreuten Dörfer
tief verschneit

Back in the USSR
noch nicht geschmolzen: der Schnee

Blick hinüber
am Ufer festgefahren
sein Papierschiffchen

GH T GH CB

Muss man die Songs nun kennen, um dieses Buch zu mögen? Muss man die Melodien und die Texte im Ohr haben? Die Antwort ist ein klares „Nein“. Die Fäden, die Gabriele Hartmann und Christof Blumentrath rund um die Songtitel spinnen und zu komplett neuen Texten verweben, stehen für sich.

Auch ich kannte den größten Teil der Songs auf diesem Album nicht, weil ich mich noch nie durch das komplette Album gehört habe. Aus reiner Neugierde habe ich mir aber dann doch alle Texte des Albums aus dem Internet heruntergeladen und gelesen. Wer will, kann in den Renhai assoziative Anknüpfungspunkte an die Lieder entdecken. So zitieren die Beatles, bzw. John Lennon als Autor, zum Beispiel in dem Lied „Glass Onion“ die „Strawberryfields“ und andere ihrer Songs. Ich persönlich habe die Erdbeerfelder als „endlose Felder / in changierendem Rot“ (GH) wiedergefunden. Und im letzten Vers hat derjenige, der „sein letztes Puzzleteil“ (CB) in den Händen hält den Song mit all seinen Anspielungen zusammengesetzt:

endlose Felder
in changierendem Rot
das 7. Universum

Glass Onion
zerbrochen nun: Zeit und Raum

zweimal gedreht
sein letztes Puzzleteil
Abendzwielicht

GH T GH CB

Um die Renhai dieses Buches zu genießen, braucht es kein Hintergrundwissen. Es ist nicht notwendig, sich durch dieses Werk der Beatles zu arbeiten, um sich daran zu freuen oder auch in Staunen versetzen zu lassen, wie es Gabriele Hartmann und Christof Blumentrath immer wieder gelingt, rund um die Songtitel eigene Werke zu spinnen.

Ich gehe allerdings davon aus, dass die Beiden sich das Album angehört haben und sich auch von der Musik inspirieren ließen, besonders bei den Liedern, die textlich nicht viel hergeben, wie z. B. „Revolution 9“ und „Good Night“, die beiden letzten Titel des Albums. „Revolution 9“ ist eine experimentelle Klangcollage, ein musikalisches Inferno mit gesprochenen Textfetzen. Daraus wurde eines meiner Lieblings-Renhai in diesem Buch:

wie ich mich drehe
und wende: Satan starrt
aus dem Spiegel

Revolution 9
geht einfach weiter, Frau Lot

dort!
ein Faden Lametta
im Osterfeuer

GH T GH CB

Und der Titel des Lullaby „Good Night, Sleep Tight“ inspirierte zu dem Renhai

Sommerabend
ihr Körper riecht
nach Pferd

Good Night
auf die Stirn geküsst

den Scheitel
der Himmelsleiter krönt
ein Hufeisenmond

CB T CB GH

Diese Renhai von Gabriele Hartmann und Christof Blumentrath berühren, indem sie Platz lassen für die eigene Phantasie und Raum geben für das ganz persönliche Empfinden, denn der Sinn eines Textes entwickelt sich und entsteht während seiner Rezeption.

Und nicht nur die Renhai berühren. Die in Grautönen gehaltenen kunstvollen Fotografien, surrealistisch abstrahierte Sujets von Gabriele Hartmann und fast unwirklich anmutende Schneebilder von Christof Blumentrath, faszinieren als kühle und geheimnisvolle Begleiter der in den Renhai festgehaltenen Geschichten.

Rüdiger Jung schreibt:

Die Ko-Autoren sind seit 2016 ein eingespieltes Team im Verfassen von Renhai, aber auch Tan-Renga, Renga, Haiga. Unter den bisherigen Renhai, die Gabriele Hartmann mit verschiedenen lyrischen Partnern verfasste, sticht dieser Band durch die Zahl der Texte (30!) sowie die anspruchsvolle bibliophile Gestaltung hervor. Eindringliche, teils rätselhafte Bilder in schwarz-weiß treten zu den zugrundeliegenden Musikstücken und den abgedruckten Partnerdichtungen in einen anregenden Trialog.

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.