Gregor Graf

three lines just a little wind

Year of publication: 2020

BoD Norderstedt 2020. 88 pages. Softcover, 12x19cm. ISBN 9-783752-611069.

Capacity:

additional information

Text samples, tables of contents, bibliographical information, sources of supply (not all elements available at the same time)

DOWNLOAD TOTAL ISSUE FOR MEMBERS ONLY

The archive of our library includes all DHG publications including the specialist articles that have been published since 1988. Since 2020, over 1000 documents have been made available. A service that is financed and maintained from the membership fees. For non-members we put »12 articles for free download bready to get an insight into the extensive archive. Membership is required to gain full access to the archive »Can be requested here.  

review

the plane
like a sparrow
would be enough for me (p. 3)

This commitment, which is as simple as it is profound, opens the band. Each three-line has its own book page. The sequence of the first five chapters is the well-known: The New Year is followed by the four European seasons. What is new compared to the second volume by Gregor Graf (nothing more, three lines only) from 2018: This time, the chapter headings are not simple nouns, but appropriate minimal extensions. The New Year is called “a new year”. This chapter ends with the haiku:

in front of the window
the sparrows
argue again (p. 13)

The chapter "finally spring" begins with the haiku:

in the top
Magpie
laughs at winter (p. 15)

I like the narrative flow that runs evenly across the three lines of these texts. Gregor Graf describes in simple words what he is listening to nature and his surroundings. The choice of words that seem so calm, it seems to me, allows the reader to participate in the author's intensive listening. Quiet humor appears in the short poem on page 40:

summerly
the hole in the stocking
by the big toe

Who doesn't think of the summer slump?

The sixth chapter is unusual: “where from - where”. Because of this chapter, does it seem to me that this volume of poetry leads not only through the year, but also through a lifetime? His first of fifteen texts reads:

recall
that I am happy
was (p. 69)

The assumption that the author might have been thinking of a whole life while writing is reinforced with the second text from this chapter:

back then
when the linden trees were in bloom
fragrant (p. 70)

I see “back then” as a look back at a wonderful time in my youth, at a special part of it. This is matched by the result of a formal census. In this chapter I count two haiku and thirteen short poems.

At the end of the book, Graf quotes the Spanish poet Juan Ramón Jiménez:

Y yo me iré.
Y se quedarán los
pájaros cantando.

Graf adds the translation as it can also be found in a dtb; but he puts them in a new order:

And i will go.
And the birds will
stay and sing.

This means that both the three Spanish and the three German lines are set very nicely. They are formally there as haiku in free forms. But if you know that these two sentences are the beginning of a larger poem, you may now also be of the opinion: You are thinking about your whole life. The title in Jiménez is: El viaje definitivo - translated in Diogenes paperback 20388 as: The final journey.

For me, “Drei Zeilen just a little wind” is a new Haiku band that radiates carefully chosen and carefully placed poetry for the receptive reader. That the poet never uses the 5-7-5 scheme once - perhaps a flaw on the haiku side; In terms of reader friendliness and poetry, I think it's a plus. Gregor Graf is a master of tinting, a gentleness in a nutshell. Fortunately, he lacks the acuity of the aphorist.

Peter Rudolf, SUMMER GRASS No. 132

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Gregor Graf

drei zeilen nur ein wenig wind

Erscheinungsjahr: 2020

BoD Norderstedt 2020. 88 Seiten. Softcover, 12x19cm. ISBN 9-783752-611069.

Inhalt:

Weitere Informationen

Textproben, Inhaltsverzeichnisse, Bibliographische Angaben, Bezugsquellen (Nicht alle Elemente gleichzeitig vorhanden)

DOWNLOAD DER GESAMTAUSGABE NUR FÜR MITGLIEDER

Das Archiv unserer Bibliothek umfasst alle DHG-Publikationen incl. der Fachartikel die seit 1988 veröffentlicht wurden. Seit 2020 können über 1000 Dokumente bereitgestellt werden. Ein Service der aus den Mitgliedsbeiträgen finanziert und aufrecht erhalten wird. Für Nichtmitglieder stellen wir » 12 Artikel zum freien Download bereit, um sich einen Einblick in das umfangreiche Archiv zu verschaffen. Um vollen Zugriff auf das Archiv zu erhalten, ist eine Mitgliedschaft erforderlich, die » hier beantragt werden kann.  

Rezension

fliegen
wie ein Sperling
würde mir genügen (S. 3)

Dieses ebenso einfache wie tiefgründende Bekenntnis eröffnet den Band. Jeder Dreizeiler hat seine eigene Buchseite. Die Abfolge der ersten fünf Kapitel ist die altbekannte: Dem Neujahr folgen die vier europäischen Jahreszeiten. Neu ist gegenüber dem zweiten Band von Gregor Graf (nichts weiter, drei zeilen nur) von 2018: Als Kapitelüberschriften stehen diesmal nicht einfache Substantive, sondern passende minime Erweiterungen. Beim Neujahr heißt es „ein neues jahr“. Beendet wird dieses Kapitel mit dem Haiku:

vor dem Fenster
die Spatzen
schon wieder streiten (S. 13)

Das Kapitel „endlich frühling“ beginnt mit dem Haiku:

im wipfel
die elster
lacht den winter aus (S. 15)

Mir gefällt bei diesen Texten der über die drei Zeilen gleichmäßig fortlaufende Erzählfluss. Gregor Graf beschreibt mit schlichten Worten, was er der Natur und seiner Umgebung ablauscht. Die Wahl so unaufgeregt wirkender Worte lässt, scheint mir, den Leser teilnehmen an des Autors intensivem Lauschen. Leiser Humor tritt auf im Kurzgedicht auf Seite 40:

sommerlich
das loch im strumpf
beim großen zeh

Wer denkt da nicht an das Sommerloch?

Ungewohnt ist das sechste Kapitel: „woher – wohin“. Erscheint es mir wegen dieses Kapitels, dass dieser Gedichtband vielleicht nicht nur durch das Jahr, sondern auch durch ein Leben führt? Sein erster von fünfzehn Texten lautet:

erinnern
dass ich glücklich
war (S. 69)

Die Vermutung, dass der Autor vielleicht beim Schreiben an ein ganzes Leben dachte, verstärkt sich bei mir mit dem zweiten Text aus diesem Kapitel:

damals
als die linden blühten
dufteten (S. 70)

Das „damals“ fasse ich auf als Rückblick auf eine schöne Jugend-Zeit, auf einen speziellen Teil davon. Dazu passt das Ergebnis einer formellen Zählung. In diesem Kapitel zähle ich zwei Haiku und dreizehn Kurzgedichte.

Am Ende des Buches zitiert Graf den spanischen Dichter Juan Ramón Jiménez:

Y yo me iré.
Y se quedarán los
pájaros cantando.

Graf fügt die Übersetzung an, wie sie auch in einem dtb zu finden ist; aber er bringt sie in eine neue Ordnung:

Und ich werde gehen.
Und die Vögel werden
bleiben und singen.

Damit sind sowohl die drei spanischen wie auch die drei deutschen Zeilen sehr schön gesetzt. Sie stehen formell da als Haiku in freien Formen. Wer aber weiß, dass diese zwei Sätze der Anfang eines größeren Gedichtes sind, wird vielleicht jetzt auch der Meinung werden: Da denkt einer über das ganze Leben nach. Der Titel lautet bei Jiménez: El viaje definitivo – im Diogenes Taschenbuch 20388 übersetzt mit: Die endgültige Reise.

Für mich ist „drei zeilen nur ein wenig wind“ ein neuer Haikuband, der für den empfänglichen Leser sorgfältig gewählte und sorgfältig gesetzte Poesie ausstrahlt. Dass der Dichter das 5-7-5-Schema kein einziges Mal anwendet – von der Haiku-Seite vielleicht ein Makel; von der Leserfreundlicheit und der Poesie her gesehen, finde ich, ein Plus. Gregor Graf ist Meister des Antönens, einer Sanftheit in Kürze. Zum Glück fehlt ihm die Schärfe des Aphoristen.

Peter Rudolf, SOMMERGRAS Nr. 132

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.