Askja Modren

A breath of wind too cool

Year of publication: 2019

Capacity:

Further information

Text samples, tables of contents, bibliographical information, sources of supply (not all elements available at the same time)

review

A breath of wind too cool

"A breath of wind too cool" lies in front of me in a high-quality, bound edition with a ribbon, with a black and white designed dust jacket. The three-line printed on the back promises "magical moments". First of all, if you only expect "classic" haikus from this ribbon, this is out of place. Either you have to look beyond the classic definition of haiku, or you can take a look at the three lines as - as noted by the author - the texts as haiku-inspired short poems, as promised in the chapter "About this book (p.114).
Henry Walter Bates's quote "The process by which a mimetic analogy is brought about in nature is a problem which involves that bof the origin of all species and all adaptions" (p.9) is not very enlightening at first, but it stops my curiosity , because the quote needs to be translated first and then sees me with question marks rather than clarity. First I leaf through the booklet; Three lines - mainly in German, partly in English - are placed in a reader-friendly manner with one or two works per page - partly pleasantly illustrated by black-and-white photos that take up the mood of the individual texts without being necessary for understanding.
The texts are divided into 3 chapters - who suspects the classic season arrangement is wrong. Rather, we have a tripartite division, which - explained in the table of contents on p.113 - does not provide any knowledge either: Far Eastern characters (Japanese?), "Dismorphiinae" and "Libera me" can probably only be understood or interpreted through the texts themselves ...
In addition to the variance in content, the texts themselves are also very variable in terms of form and language - and are always pleasantly surprising. Classic three-liner lines such as "One yard further - / A circular saw shrieks / The midday rest." (P.48) alternate with linguistically clear words, such as in "Do your best / and really accelerate that is what she / shit tight of the bra", through to evaluating three-liners, which are no longer generally regarded as haiku, for example “A flake / on the tip of my nose. Now? At this time? ”(P.107).
The texts are not uniform, consistent lowercase of the words, the uniform absence of punctuation marks, no, here too Askja Modren does not find a continuous line ... language changes from German to English within a three-liner, Askja Modren also surprises the reader in various places.
All in all, a volume full of three lines to think about, not just to consume - whether as haiku or haiku-inspired, the inclined reader may discover for himself ...

Thomas Schwiermann, in summer grass No. 128, pp. 76/77
A breath of wind too cool - Haiku - No Haiku, by Askja Modren, 114 pages, Verlag Schäfer & Schäfer GbR, Rheinbach 2019. ISBN 978-3-9820610-1-6

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Askja Modren

Ein Windhauch zu kühl

Erscheinungsjahr: 2019

Inhalt:

Weitere Informationen

Textproben, Inhaltsverzeichnisse, Bibliographische Angaben, Bezugsquellen (Nicht alle Elemente gleichzeitig vorhanden)

Rezension

Ein Windhauch zu kühl

„Ein Windhauch zu kühl“ liegt in einer mit Lesebändchen versehenen, wertigen, gebundenen Ausgabe mit einem schwarz-weiß-gestalteten Schutzumschlag vor mir. „Magische Momente“ verspricht der auf der Rückseite abgedruckte Dreizeiler. Vorweg gesagt, wer von diesem Bändchen nur „klassische“ Haikus erwartet, ist hier fehl am Platze. Entweder ist über die klassische Haiku-Definition hinauszuschauen, oder aber ein Betrachtungswinkel, die Dreizeiler als – wie autorenseitig angemerkt – die Texte als Haiku-inspirierte Kurzgedichte, wie es das Kapitel „Über dieses Buch (S.114) verspricht, einzunehmen.
Henry Walter Bates Zitat „The process by which a mimetic analogy is brought about in nature is a problem which involves that bof the origin of all species and all adaptions“ (S.9) ist im ersten Moment wenig erhellend, stoppt es meine Neugier doch, da das Zitat erst einmal übersetzt sein will, und mich dann trotzdem eher mit Fragezeichen als mit Klarheit versehen sieht. Ich blättere erst einmal weiter durch das Büchlein; Dreizeiler – überwiegend auf Deutsch, teils Englisch – platzieren sich lesefreundlich mit ein bis zwei Werken pro Seite – teils angenehm illustriert durch Schwarz-Weiß-Fotos, die die Stimmung der einzelnen Texte aufgreifen, ohne dabei für das Verständnis notwendig sein zu müssen.
Die Texte verteilen sich auf 3 Kapitel – wer hier die klassische Jahreszeitenanordnung vermutet, liegt falsch. Vielmehr haben wir eine Dreiteilung, die – erläutert im Inhaltsverzeichnis auf S.113 – zunächst ebenfalls nicht für Erkenntnis sorgt: fernöstlich anmutende Schriftzeichen (japanisch?), „Dismorphiinae“ und „Libera me“ lassen sich vermutlich erst über die Texte selber nachvollziehen oder interpretieren…
Die Texte selber sind, neben der inhaltlichen Varianz, auch formal und sprachlich sehr variabel – und immer wieder wohltuend überraschend. Klassisch anmutende Dreizeiler wie z.B. „Einen Hof weiter – / Zerkreischt eine Kreissäge / Die Mittagsruhe.“ (S.48) wechseln mit sprachlich deutlich werdenden Worten, wie in „ihr bestes geben / und richtig gas das will sie / scheißeng der bh“, bis hin zu wertenden Dreizeilern, die gemeinhin nicht mehr als Haiku betrachtet werden, z.B. „Eine Flocke / Auf meiner Nasenspitze. Jetzt? Zu dieser Zeit?“ (S.107).
Die Texte sind nicht einheitlich, konsequente Kleinschreibung der Worte, das einheitliche Entfallen von Satzzeichen, nein, auch hier findet Askja Modren keine durchgängige Linie… sprachliche Wechsel vom Deutschen ins Englische innerhalb eines Dreizeilers, auch damit überrascht Askja Modren den Leser an verschiedenen Stellen.
Insgesamt ein Band voller Dreizeiler zum Nachdenken, nicht zum bloßen konsumieren – ob nun als Haiku oder haiku-inspiriert, das mag der geneigte Leser für sich selber entdecken…

Thomas Opfermann, in Sommergras Nr. 128, S. 76/77
Ein Windhauch zu kühl – Haiku – No Haiku, von Askja Modren, 114 Seiten, Verlag Schäfer & Schäfer GbR, Rheinbach 2019. ISBN 978-3-9820610-1-6

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.