Thomas Berger

Stop at the night. Haiku

Year of publication: 2000

2000, Kelkheim (Taunus), 172 pages, paperback, 12,70 EUR, ISBN 978-3-922272-57-1 or directly from the author: autor.thomasberger@gmail.com

Capacity:

The book is devoted to the diverse aspects of darkness. The haiku circle the secret of darkness without succumbing to the temptation to illuminate it.
The aim is to stand up to the night, to perceive its peculiarities and to look over them at the foundation of light reality.
The small form of the haiku close to nature and the deliberately simple drawings by the author try to come close to silence at night.

review

Thomas Berger: A break into the night. Haiku. With drawings by the author. Kelkheim: M.-G.-Schmitz-Verlag, 2000, 172 pages.

The “hymns to the night” of a Novalis may have been the most sustainable engagement of an author for the “other of light”. Thomas Berger is walking in his trail: no one shares the path with me under the night clouds, only the moon above. (P. 9) Pale yellow sickle over colorless trees. A single sound. (P. 104)

It doesn't have to be lonely - on the side of the moon. Klopstock already knew him as a "friend of thoughts". Others are not fooling themselves: a night can be very productive: at dawn the clever fox returns with rich prey. (P. 10)

At night, Berger is on the path of demythologization: black plumage - this is how your bad reputation, unsuspecting raven, came about. (P. 12) Glittering pond, carefree snapping crucian carp over a dark background. (P. 35) It is not that the "raven" is idealized. In his case (the biblical creation story d'accord), “guileless” means beyond good and evil. Even the “carefree” of the “crucian carpets” in no way means to humanize them in a roundabout way. They are simply beyond concern.

How does a poem like the following relate to the poetic tradition of Japan? The night before my eyes I am delighted with the splendor of colors: this is how I want to live. (P. 85) It is possible that this sounds very deliberate and reflective in the homeland of haiku. But let's not ignore the commitment to beauty despite and with its impermanence - that seems very Japanese to me! The same forest path and yet silently transformed by the snow white of the night. (P. 18) A snowflake that slowly blows to the ground. That's how my life is. (P. 143)

Rudiger Jung

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Thomas Berger

Einkehr in die Nacht. Haiku

Erscheinungsjahr: 2000

2000, Kelkheim (Taunus), 172 Seiten, Taschenbuch, 12,70 EUR, ISBN 978-3-922272-57-1 oder direkt über den Verfasser: autor.thomasberger@gmail.com

Inhalt:

Das Buch widmet sich den vielfältigen Aspekten der Dunkelheit. Die Haiku umkreisen das Geheimnis der Finsterkeit, ohne der Versuchung zu erliegen, es ausleuchten zu wollen.
Der Nacht standzuhalten, ihre Besonderheiten wahrzunehmen und über sie das Fundament lichter Wirklichkeit zu schauen, ist das Anliegen.
Nächtlichem Schweigen versuchen die kleine Form des naturverbundenen Haiku und die absichtlich schlichten Zeichnungen des Verfassers nahezukommen.

Rezension

Thomas Berger: Einkehr in die Nacht. Haiku. Mit Zeichnungen des Autors. Kelkheim: M.-G.-Schmitz-Verlag, 2000, 172 Seiten.

Die „Hymnen an die Nacht“ eines Novalis dürften bislang das nachhaltigste Eintreten eines Autors für das „Andere des Lichts“ gewesen sein. Thomas Berger wandelt in seiner Spur: Unter Nachtgewölk teilt niemand mit mir den Weg, nur droben der Mond. (S. 9) Blassgelbe Sichel über farblosen Bäumen. Ein einziger Laut. (S. 104)

Einsam muss das nicht sein – an der Seite des Mondes. Kannte ihn doch schon Klopstock als„Gedankenfreund“. Andere machen sich nichts vor: Eine Nacht kann sehr ertragreich sein: Bei Tagesanbruch kehrt mit reicher Beute heim der schlaue Fuchs. (S. 10)

Gerade in der Nacht beschreitet Berger den Weg der Entmythologisierung: Schwarzes Federkleid –so entstand dein übler Ruf, argloser Rabe. (S. 12) Glitzernder Weiher, Sorglos schnappen Karauschen über dunklem Grund. (S. 35) Es ist nicht so, dass der „Rabe“ idealisiert würde. „Arglos“ meint in seinem Falle (der biblischen Schöpfungsgeschichte d’accord) jenseits von Gut und Böse. Auch das „sorglos“ der „Karauschen“ meint keinesfalls, sie auf Umwegen zu vermenschlichen. Sie bewegen sich schlicht jenseits der Sorge.

Wie verhält sich nun ein Gedicht wie das folgende zur poetischen Tradition Japans? Die Nacht vor Augen mich der Farbenpracht freuen: So will ich leben. (S. 85) Möglich, dass das in der Heimat des Haiku arg absichtsvoll und reflektiert klänge. Aber überhören wir nicht das Bekenntnis zum Schönen trotz und mit seiner Vergänglichkeit – das scheint mir sehr japanisch! Derselbe Waldweg und doch lautlos verwandelt vom Schneeweiß der Nacht. (S. 18) Eine Schneeflocke, die langsam zu Boden weht. So ist mein Leben. (S. 143)

Rüdiger Jung

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.