Brigitte ten Brink & Gabriele Hartmann, bon say publisher

Sgt. Pepper's - Renhai… inspired by the Beatles album of the same name

Year of publication: 2019

2018 in bon-say-Verlag, handcrafted miniature book, Din A6 portrait, 16 pages, with bookmarks, 4 €, available via email to info@bon-say.de

Capacity:

Further information

Text samples, tables of contents, bibliographical information, sources of supply (not all elements available at the same time)

13 Renhai
Brigitte ten Brink and Gabriele Hartmann have distinguished themselves through the album “Sgt. Pepper's “of the Beatles to be inspired to create a common poetry in the style of the Renhai The respective song title finds its place as the first line of the second verse. The first author writes both the first (three-line) verse and the second line of the second (two-line) verse. Then the second author writes the (three-line) final verse. A heading was deliberately avoided.

review

Review by Rüdiger Jung:

I was still a child in the big years of the Beatles. But her perhaps most spectacular album is full of tracks, the melody of which I can call up: In addition to the title track "With a Little Help from My Friends" (for me more Joe Cocker), "Lucy in The Sky with Diamonds", "She's Leaving Home" (a piece that a very young English teacher treated with us), "When I'm Sixty-Four", "Lovely Rita".

"They were friends" Brigitte ten Brink describes the myth in one short line (p. 1). From the breakup, everyone hoped the Fab Four could come together again - with the murder of John Lennon ten years later, the dream had been shattered forever. The two authors are fascinated - not blinded. This is what the “Mirage” (BtB, p. 3) speaks of as a commentary on “Lucy in The Sky with Diamonds”, a truly exhilarating acrostic poem (LSD!). The funny, exhilarating "When I'm Sixty-Four" as "second spring" (BtB) takes an entirely existential twist: "Shortly before the goal / change direction - there is / is good Grün.de" (GH, S. 9). The balance of the days ("one day like the other", BtB) experiences a truly haiku-like resolution: "and yet ... / a stray cat / smiles at me" (GH, p. 11).

As a reader, I am deeply touched by how the authors unfold the Beatles' ballads and certainly enter their own experiences, their own realities more than once. Page 4 makes you think about all the wishes that arise in childhood and probably only fulfill to a somewhat modest extent in adult life. Last but not least, page 12 speaks of the fact that the love of almost all young couples in the world has been at home in music at least since the Beatles; this music can exist as a secret band or wear out, then the "farewell on rates" (GH) threatens. Finally, my third favorite among the Renhai is completely reproduced:

Speaker car
move through the city
advertising campaigns

For the Benefit of Mr. Kite
Circus music

the auditorium
Quiet as a mouse - a dwarf
bows

(BtB T BtB GH, p. 7)

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Brigitte ten Brink & Gabriele Hartmann, bon-say-verlag

Sgt. Pepper’s – Renhai … inspiriert durch das gleichnamige Album der Beatles

Erscheinungsjahr: 2019

2018 im bon-say-verlag, handgearbeitetes Miniaturbuch, Din A6 hoch, 16 Seiten, mit Lesezeichen, 4 €, zu beziehen per E-Mail an info@bon-say.de

Inhalt:

Weitere Informationen

Textproben, Inhaltsverzeichnisse, Bibliographische Angaben, Bezugsquellen (Nicht alle Elemente gleichzeitig vorhanden)

13 Renhai
Brigitte ten Brink und Gabriele Hartmann haben sich durch das Album „Sgt. Pepper’s“ der Beatles zu einer gemeinsamen Dichtung im Stil des Renhai inspirieren lassen. Der jeweilige Song-Titel findet seinen Platz als erste Zeile des zweiten Verses. Der erste Autor verfasst sowohl den ersten (dreizeiligen) Vers als auch die zweite Zeile des zweiten (zweizeiligen) Verses. Danach schreibt der zweite Autor den (dreizeiligen) Abschlussvers. Auf eine Überschrift wurde bewusst verzichtet.

Rezension

Rezension von Rüdiger Jung:

In den großen Jahren der Beatles war ich noch ein Kind. Aber ihr vielleicht spektakulärstes Album steckt voller Titel, deren Melodie in mir abrufbar ist: Neben dem Titelstück „With a Little Help from My Friends“ (für mich eher Joe Cocker), „Lucy in The Sky with Diamonds“, „She’s Leaving Home“ (ein Stück, das ein sehr junger Lehrer im Englisch-Unterricht mit uns behandelte), „When I’m Sixty-Four“, „Lovely Rita“.

„sie waren Freunde“ benennt Brigitte ten Brink in einer einzigen knappen Zeile den Mythos (S. 1). Von der Trennung ab hofften alle, die Fab Four könnten noch einmal zusammenkommen – mit der Ermordung John Lennons zehn Jahre später hatte sich der Traum für immer zerschlagen. Die beiden Autorinnen lassen sich faszinieren – nicht blenden. Davon spricht das „Trugbild“ (BtB, S. 3) als Kommentar zu „Lucy in The Sky with Diamonds“, einem wahrlich berauschenden Akrostichon (LSD!). Das lustig-beschwingte „When I’m Sixty-Four“ erhält als „zweiter Frühling“ (BtB) eine durchaus existenzielle Wendung: „kurz vor dem Ziel / die Richtung ändern – dafür / gibt’s gute Grün.de“ (GH‚ S. 9). Das Gleichmaß der Tage („ein Tag wie der andere“, BtB) erfährt eine wahrlich haiku-gemäße Auflösung: „und doch … / eine streunende Katze / lächelt mir zu“ (GH, S. 11).

Tief berührt mich als Leser, wie die Autorinnen die Balladen der Beatles entfalten und dabei sicher mehr als einmal ihr eigenes Erleben, ihre eigenen Realitäten eintragen. Seite 4 macht nachdenklich über all die Wünsche, die sich in der Kindheit einstellen und wohl nur zu einem eher bescheidenen Teil im Erwachsenenleben erfüllen. Seite 12 spricht nicht zuletzt davon, dass die Liebe fast aller jungen Paare dieser Welt wohl spätestens seit den Beatles in der Musik zuhause ist; diese Musik kann als geheimes Band von Bestand sein oder aber ausleiern‚ dann droht der „Abschied auf Raten“ (GH). Mein dritter Favorit unter den Renhai sei abschließend komplett wiedergegeben:

Lautsprecherwagen
ziehen durch die Stadt
Werbekampagnen

For the Benefit of Mr. Kite
Zirkusmusik

das Auditorium
mucksmäuschenstill – ein Zwerg
verneigt sich

(BtB T BtB GH, S. 7)

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.