Selected haiku

Haiku translations: a collaboration between Emiko Miyashita, Claudia Brefeld and Eva Moering

"Here the idea and background of this project can be found.

 

Selection and commenting on
NAKAMASA Iwaoka, HIA Vice President

Battlefield
I swat midge after midge
with a stick

戦場 / 次々とコバエを / 棒切れでたたく

senjō / tsugitsugi to kobae o / bōkire de tataku

battlefield
I fight mosquito after mosquito
with a stick

GARDINER, Tim (UK) ガーディナー、ティム (イギリス)

Even today, in the 21st century, the war is still raging. In the beginning, the word "battlefield" is suddenly shouted, followed by the frustration with which the author frantically crushes the little mosquitoes sticking to him. The heat and fear of death in the trenches of a deadlocked war front, the suffocating tension and anger instantly become a haiku, and the roar of the shells and the blast of air seem to come close to the viewer's body. The external tension and the internal fear and anger are immediately captured in this haiku, which exhibits the typical haiku realism. It is a work in which the author rages about the unreasonableness of war and hopes for a return to peaceful everyday life.

啓蟄やZoomに並ぶ友の顔

keichitsu ya / Zūmu ni narabu / tomo no kao

Keichitsu*
faces of friends
lined up on zoom

結菜やよひ YUNA Yayohi

*keichitsu = awakening from hibernation, awakening of insects – around March 6th

This is a delightful haiku, a sonorous celebration of life's rebirth. Not only is it witty, however, it displays a great sense of humor that embraces the joy of "keichitsu" (awakening of the insects), a hymn to life. It was a Zoom meeting on the day of "keichitsu" and in the midst of the COVID disaster, the author is surprised and happy when his friends' faces appear on the screen one by one, like insects emerging from the earth. The haiku is a poem about the daily greetings and joys that life brings.

Mountains
are the waves
f

山々は / 凍りついた / 波だ

yamayama wa / kōritsuita / nami da

The Atlas mountains
are frozen
Waves

ERKHEMBAYAR, S. (Inner Mongolia) エルヘムバヤル (内モンゴル)

The attraction of this work is that the emotion is captured directly and expressed with the greatest possible foreshortening. It is the emotion itself. The intuitive expression "the mountains are frozen waves" is like a revelation of the universe, and the moment the author uttered these words, he became one with the universe. The work reflects the author's overwhelming impression as he was overcome by the divine beauty of the icy mountains rising behind the endless steppes of Inner Mongolia. Also fascinating is the stillness of the mountains, which can still be seen after the author says "waves".

熱帯魚会議平行線のまま

nettaigyo / kaigi heikō-/sen no mama

Tropical Fish –
the session remains
without agreement

 

宮田勝MIYATA Masaru

The "tropical fish" are cool and colorful, and the "session" is endless. The author managed to combine the two words. The tropical fish have long been silent, but the "parallel", inconclusive session has passed the point of heated discussion and is now tending to remain silent. It's fun to imagine the situation in different ways. The impermanent ending of this sentence, “mama” (remains unresolved), also expresses worried thoughts well.

The baggy jacket
of my passed husband
cozy and warm

亡き夫の / 大きな上着 / 暖かし

naki tsuma no / ōkina uwagi / atatakashi

The baggy jacket
my late husband
cozy and warm

KURODA, Motoko (USA) 黒田素子 (アメリカ)

"Simplicity" is the most important aspect of a haiku. However, “plain” is different from “ordinary”. In haiku, poetic intuition and immediacy are important, and this haiku has both. The author puts on her deceased husband's jacket and immediately feels as if he is hugging him. It is the "warmth" of spring. The rhythm of this haiku is good, the big jacket is visible, and the husband's physical warmth is felt in this work.

 

And here are five more haiku - selected by Emiko Miyashita

ランドセル靴もパープル一年生

randoseru / kutsu mo pāpuru / ichinensei

Both school bag
as well as shoes are purple...
a first grader

今泉かの子 IMAIZUMI Kanoko

こひのぼりつけて風切る三輪車

koinobori / tsukete kazekiru / sanrinsha

with a carp flag*
rides the tricycle
against the wind

杉山やよひ SUGIYAMA Yayoi

*Windsock in the shape of a carp, which was used at the boys' festival on May 5.5th. is hoisted

赤とんぼ連れて吊橋渡りけり

akatonbo / tsurete tsuribashi / watari keri

accompanied
from a red dragonfly
I cross the suspension bridge

永井弘子 NAGAI Hiroko

水中の風やはらかし金魚の尾

suichū no / kaze yawarakashi / kingyo no o

submerged
in the gentle wind
the fin of the goldfish

白根順子 SHIRANE Junko

抽斗の真珠に春の波の音

hikidashi no / shinju ni haru no / nami no oto

In the drawer
the sound of pearls
like spring waves

各務恵紅 KAKAMI Keiko

Invitation to the zoom seminar with Prof. Makoto Aoki

10th Zoom Haiku Seminar with Prof. Aoki Sunday, February 12.02.2023th, 13 at XNUMX p.m. German time. The theme: "Tori-awase", a combination of two motifs in one haiku. The seminar will be held in German and Japanese. Everyone,

More

Chrysanthemum 30

CHRYSANTHEMUM RESUMES WORK IN 2023 Submissions are generally possible again. From February 1st to March 1st, authors can submit their contributions for the Spring 2023 issue. Please add the changed ones

More

ahaiga

https://www.ahaiga.ch/ Die neue Ausgabe von ahaiga ist seit dem 07.01.2023 online. Autoren/Autorinnen sind eingeladen, fürs neue Quartal max. 3 Haiga einzureichen. Einsendungen bitte über die Homepage; keine Mail-Anhänge. Ich freue mich auf

More

Haiku International No. 157 (December 2022)

Selected haiku translations of the haiku: a collaboration between Emiko Miyashita, Claudia Brefeld and Eva Moering »You can read about the idea and background to this project here. Selection and commentary by NAKAMASA Iwaoka,

More

Anthology Project 2023 - "Nature Turbulence"

Anthology Project 2023 – "Nature Turbulence" INVITATION December 2022 Dear haiku authors, For the new international anthology project 2023, Ingo Cesaro is looking for Haiku and Senryu

More

Summer grass 139

with many interesting articles about Haiku & Co has appeared. A small foretaste of the content of this issue as well as information about membership or subscription is available for (still) non-members

More

Haiku and Tanka Picks December 2022

A total of 251 haiku from 89 authors and 69 tanka from 23 authors were submitted for this selection. The deadline for entries was October 15, 2022. These texts were edited before the selection of

More
1 2 3 ... 14

Haiku and tanka selection

Click on the box below for more information

Anything else

New forum topics
No topics yet!
EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Ausgewählte Haiku

Übersetzungen der Haiku: eine Zusammenarbeit von Emiko Miyashita, Claudia Brefeld und Eva Moering

»Hier können Idee und Hintergrund zu diesem Projekt nachgelesen werden.

 

Auswahl und Kommentierung von
NAKAMASA Iwaoka, HIA Vice President

Battlefield
I swat midge after midge
with a stick

戦場 / 次々とコバエを / 棒切れでたたく

senjō / tsugitsugi to kobae o / bōkire de tataku

Schlachtfeld
Ich bekämpfe Mücke um Mücke
mit einem Stock

GARDINER, Tim (U.K.)                  ガーディナー、ティム (イギリス)

Auch heute, im 21. Jahrhundert, wütet noch der Krieg. Am Anfang wird plötzlich das Wort „Schlachtfeld“ gerufen, gefolgt von der Frustration, mit der der Autor wie wild die kleinen Mücken zerquetscht, die an ihm kleben. Die Hitze und die Todesangst in den Schützengräben einer festgefahrenen Kriegsfront, die erstickende Anspannung und Wut werden sofort zu einem Haiku, und das Dröhnen der Granaten und der Luftstoß scheinen dicht an den Körper des Betrachters heranzurücken. Die äußere Anspannung und die innere Angst und Wut werden in diesem Haiku, das den typischen Realismus des Haiku aufweist, unmittelbar eingefangen. Es ist ein Werk, in dem der Autor über die Unvernunft des Krieges wütet und auf eine Rückkehr zum friedlichen Alltag hofft.

啓蟄やZoomに並ぶ友の顔

keichitsu ya / Zūmu ni narabu / tomo no kao

Keichitsu*
Gesichter von Freunden
aufgereiht auf Zoom

結菜やよひ                  YUNA Yayohi

*keichitsu = Erwachen aus dem Winterschlaf, Erwachen der Insekten – ca. 6. März

Dies ist ein entzückendes Haiku, eine klangvolle Feier der Wiedergeburt des Lebens. Es ist jedoch nicht nur witzig, sondern zeigt einen großen Sinn für Humor, der die Freude am „keichitsu“ (Erwachen der Insekten), einer Hymne an das Leben, umfasst. Es war ein Zoom-Treffen am Tag des „keichitsu“ und mitten in der COVID-Katastrophe ist der Autor überrascht und glücklich, als die Gesichter seiner Freunde nacheinander auf dem Bildschirm erscheinen, wie Insekten, die der Erde entspringen. Das Haiku ist ein Gedicht über die täglichen Grüße und Freuden, die das Leben mit sich bringt.

Mountains
are the waves
frozen

山々は / 凍りついた / 波だ

yamayama wa / kōritsuita / nami da

Die Berge
sind gefrorene
Wellen

ERKHEMBAYAR, S. (Inner Mongolia)         エルヘムバヤル (内モンゴル)

Der Reiz dieses Werks besteht darin, dass die Emotion direkt erfasst und mit der größtmöglichen Verkürzung ausgedrückt wird. Es ist die Emotion selbst. Der intuitive Ausdruck „die Berge sind gefrorene Wellen“ ist wie eine Offenbarung des Universums, und in dem Moment, als der Autor diese Worte aussprach, wurde er eins mit dem Universum. Das Werk spiegelt den überwältigenden Eindruck wider den der Autor hatte, als er von der göttlichen Schönheit der eisigen Berge überwältigt wurde, die sich hinter den endlosen Steppen der Inneren Mongolei erhoben. Faszinierend ist auch die Stille der Berge, die noch zu sehen ist, nachdem der Autor „Wellen“ gesagt hat.

熱帯魚会議平行線のまま

nettaigyo / kaigi heikō-/sen no mama

Tropische Fische –
die Sitzung bleibt
ohne Einigung

 

宮田 勝                   MIYATA Masaru

Die „tropischen Fische“ sind cool und farbenfroh, und die „Sitzung“ ist endlos. Dem Autor ist es gelungen, die beiden Wörter zu kombinieren. Die tropischen Fische sind schon lange stumm, aber die „parallele“, ergebnislose Sitzung hat den Punkt der hitzigen Diskussion überschritten und neigt nun dazu, zu schweigen. Es macht Spaß, sich die Situation auf verschiedene Weise vorzustellen. Das unbeständige Ende dieses Satzes, „mama“ (remains unresolved), drückt auch die besorgten Gedanken gut aus.

The baggy jacket
of my passed husband
cozy and warm

亡き夫の / 大きな上着 / 暖かし

naki tsuma no / ōkina uwagi / atatakashi

Die ausgebeulte Jacke
meines verstorbenen Mannes
kuschelig und warm

KURODA, Motoko (U.S.A.)                       黒田素子 (アメリカ)

„Schlichtheit“ ist der wichtigste Aspekt eines Haiku. Allerdings unterscheidet sich „schlicht“ von „gewöhnlich“. Im Haiku sind poetische Intuition und Unmittelbarkeit wichtig, und dieses Haiku hat beides. Die Autorin zieht die Jacke ihres verstorbenen Mannes an und hat sofort das Gefühl, von ihm umarmt zu werden. Es ist die „Wärme“ des Frühlings. Der Rhythmus dieses Haiku ist gut, die große Jacke ist sichtbar, und die körperliche Wärme des Ehemanns ist in diesem Werk zu spüren.

 

Und hier fünf weitere Haiku – ausgesucht von Emiko Miyashita

ランドセル靴もパープル一年生

randoseru / kutsu mo pāpuru / ichinensei

Sowohl Schultasche
als auch Schuhe sind lila …
ein Erstklässler

今泉かの子                       IMAIZUMI Kanoko

こひのぼりつけて風切る三輪車

koinobori / tsukete kazekiru / sanrinsha

mit einer Karpfen-Fahne*
fährt das Dreirad
gegen den Wind

杉山やよひ                     SUGIYAMA Yayoi

*Windsack in Karpfengestalt, die beim Knabenfest am 5.5. gehisst wird

赤とんぼ連れて吊橋渡りけり

akatonbo / tsurete tsuribashi / watari keri

begleitet
von einer roten Libelle
überquere ich die Hängebrücke

永井弘子                     NAGAI Hiroko

水中の風やはらかし金魚の尾

suichū no / kaze yawarakashi / kingyo no o

Unterwasser
im sanften Wind
die Flosse des Goldfischs

白根順子                  SHIRANE Junko

抽斗の真珠に春の波の音

hikidashi no / shinju ni haru no / nami no oto

In der Schublade
der Klang der Perlen
wie Frühlingswellen

各務恵紅                 KAKAMI Keiko

Einladung zum Zoom-Seminar mit Prof. Makoto Aoki

10. Zoom-Haiku-Seminar mit Prof. Aoki   So. 12.02.2023 um 13 Uhr deutscher Zeit. Das Thema: „Tori-awase“, eine Kombination zweier Motive in einem Haiku. Das Seminar wird auf Deutsch und Japanisch abgehalten. Jeder,

More

Chrysanthemum 30

CHRYSANTHEMUM NIMMT DIE ARBEIT IN 2023 WIEDER AUF Einreichungen sind generell wieder möglich.  Vom 1. Februar bis 1. März können Autoren ihre Beiträge für die Frühjahrsausgabe 2023 einreichen.  Bitte dazu die geänderten

More

ahaiga

https://www.ahaiga.ch/ Die neue Ausgabe von ahaiga ist seit dem 07.01.2023 online. Autoren/Autorinnen sind eingeladen, fürs neue Quartal max. 3 Haiga einzureichen. Einsendungen bitte über die Homepage; keine Mail-Anhänge. Ich freue mich auf

More

Haiku-International Nr. 157 (Dezember 2022)

Ausgewählte Haiku Übersetzungen der Haiku: eine Zusammenarbeit von Emiko Miyashita, Claudia Brefeld und Eva Moering »Hier können Idee und Hintergrund zu diesem Projekt nachgelesen werden.   Auswahl und Kommentierung von NAKAMASA Iwaoka,

More

Anthologie-Projekt 2023 – „Natur-Turbulenzen“

Anthologie-Projekt 2023 – „Natur-Turbulenzen“ E I N L A D U N G Dezember 2022 Liebe Haiku-Autorinnen und Haiku-Autoren, für das neue internationale Anthologie-Projekt 2023 sucht Ingo Cesaro Haiku und Senryu zum

More

Sommergras 139

mit vielen interessanten Beiträgen rund um Haiku & Co ist erschienen. Einen kleinen Vorgeschmack auf den Inhalt dieser Ausgabe sowie Informationen über eine Mitgliedschaft oder ein Abonnement gibt es für (noch) Nichtmitglieder

More

Hamburg: Haiku und Tanka im japanischen Teehaus

Am Dienstag d. 6 Dezember um 19 Uhr  lädt die Hamburger Autorenvereinigung zu einer Lesung von Sabine Sommerkamp ein. Erstmals präsentiert sie der Hamburger Öffentlichkeit ihr Buch: 17 Ansichten des Berges Fuji

More

Haiku-und Tanka-Auswahl Dezember 2022

Es wurden insgesamt 251 Haiku von 89 Autoren und 69 Tanka von 23 Autoren für diese Auswahl eingereicht. Einsendeschluss war der 15. Oktober 2022. Diese Texte wurden vor Beginn der Auswahl von

More
1 2 3 14

Haiku- und Tanka-Auswahl

Für weitere Infos auf die Box unten klicken

Sonst noch

Neue Foren-Themen
Noch keine Themen!
EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.