Angelika Holweger and Gabriele Hartmann (Eds.)

On winding paths - Foto-Tan-Renga and Renhai

Year of publication: 2020

2020, published by bon-say-verlag, Gabriele Hartmann, Ober der Jagdwiese 3, 57629 Höchstenbach, € 14, ISBN 978-3-945890-27-1, available postage free by email to the publisher: info @ bon- say.de

Capacity:

Further information

Text samples, tables of contents, bibliographical information, sources of supply (not all elements available at the same time)

Tan-Renga-Haiga and Renhai by Angelika Holweger and Gabriele Hartmann, bon-say-verlag,
Hardcover, thread binding, 190 g natural paper, 56 colored pages

review

Brigitte ten Brink
On winding paths
review

Angelika Holweger and Gabriele Hartmann: On winding paths. Tan-Renga-Haiga & Renhai; bon-say-verlag, 2020. ISBN 978-3-945890-27-1. Hardcover, thread binding, format 13,5cm x 21,5 cm, 56 pages. € 14,00. www.bon-say.de

Anyone who takes this book in their hand will notice the artistically demanding and wonderful layout by Gabriele Hartmann even before the first line has been read. The cover in shades of green and yellow, based on a photo by Angelika Holweger, evokes associations with Bashô's frog pond, the title "On winding paths" points to stories that want to be explored and found and that can be read in different ways, depending on the focus and mood of the Reader.

The special thing about the Tan-Renga-Haiga is that the texts are not inserted into the actual images, but into the transparent reflections of these images underneath. These reflections are repeated, again mirrored, on the lower edge of the opposite pages with the Renhai - a design that makes the book a visual delight just by leafing through it. On each four pages a feast for the eyes with great reading pleasure follows a double page pure reading pleasure with a reindeer shark on each page. The abbreviations "AH" for Angelika Holweger and "GH" for Gabriele Hartmann provide information about the authorship of the verses. On a total of 56 pages the reader will find 16 Tan-Renga-Haiga and 31 Renhai.

Gabriele Hartmann was granted project studies by the Rhineland-Palatinate Foundation for Culture for the artistic design and publication of this book.

The book begins, which I personally like very much, with a Tan-Renga-Haiga that takes into account the different geographical habitats of the two authors. Angelika Holweger (AH) lives in the south of Germany, Gabriele Hartmann (GH) in the middle of the republic, which, if wanted, can be reflected in linguistic expression.

at the Christeele
eikaufe in his shop
for the Kender de graischt Fraid

inclined towards each other

Bird and fish

AH / GH

The accompanying photo by Gabriele Hartmann shows two wooden masks, which in turn would go well with the “Swabian-Alemannic Carnival”. Especially in the fools guilds around Lake Constance, there are masks that are based on birds and fish.

The book contains strong texts throughout, with strong verses that could often stand alone as haiku.

so much light

sweaty skin
dance tightly embraced
two shadows

so much light on their wings
choose aperture 4

shooting stars
from the old chapel
heavenly sounds

GH / AH GH / AH

A renhai begins with the first line in bold of the second, middle verse. In this case she wrote Angelika Holweger (AH). Gabriele Hartmann (GH) added the second line of this verse. Then AH wrote the third verse and only after that GH wrote the first, the opening verse.

The passion of the first verse, when reading from top to bottom, gives way in the second verse to the objective consideration of choosing the right aperture for a photo in order to capture the shine of the wings. In the last verse it ends in a night full of sensual and spiritual impressions. In the order in which the Renhai came into being, it reads the other way round: First the light on the wings (a religious symbol or a symbol for the power of God?) Is captured with a camera, then the almost sacred night ends in passion.

However, it is completely irrelevant in which sequence the Renhai are read, from top to bottom, ie from the first to the third verse or in the order in which they were created, they leave a lasting impression in any case.

As shown in the example above, all texts in this book combine spirituality, emotionality, natural events and spectacles with everyday and current situations. Feelings and memories, family and other relationships, fairy-tale and traditional things and not to forget the music find their place in the verses of the authors.

disguised words

so many stars
on the flags -
heaven everywhere

Mother's bone china
the clouds have gold braid

disguised words
the dictator says
he just wanted her best

AH / GH AH / GH

Here is a coffee table with fine porcelain, as delicate with its shining gold rim as clouds at sunset, as an alternative to the political reality in which a dictator wants to swear the people to his line. And these people willingly wave their flags with the many stars and believe in heaven. As I read it, I immediately think of America and a president who wants to stay in power by lying the blue of the sky, but also of other states in which politicians want to usurp sole power.

In the Renhai “without a mask” and “talkative” the current reality is summed up in lyrical form and three verses.

without mask

Dona nobis pacem
wir singen
without mask

whether she smiles?
Luna is veiled

deep bow
the Chef de Rang accompanies us
to the door

AH / GH AH / GH

chatty

new tweets
every minute - humanity
holds your breath

in the evening the talkative sparrows
from the colored ivy

she tells haunted stories ...
far too often it fills
our glasses

GH / AH GH / AH

Grandiose how Angelika Holweger and Gabriele Hartmann let their thoughts play out on many levels, link them together and tell the reader wonderful and multi-layered little stories from life and about life.

At the end I wanted to quote a favorite text, but I have grown dear to so many that it is impossible for me to give priority to just one.

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Angelika Holweger und Gabriele Hartmann (Hrsg.)

Auf verschlungenen Pfaden – Foto-Tan-Renga und Renhai

Erscheinungsjahr: 2020

2020, erschienen im bon-say-verlag, Gabriele Hartmann, Ober der Jagdwiese 3, 57629 Höchstenbach, 14 €, ISBN 978-3-945890-27-1, portofrei zu beziehen per E-Mail an den Verlag: info@bon-say.de

Inhalt:

Weitere Informationen

Textproben, Inhaltsverzeichnisse, Bibliographische Angaben, Bezugsquellen (Nicht alle Elemente gleichzeitig vorhanden)

Tan-Renga-Haiga und Renhai von Angelika Holweger und Gabriele Hartmann, bon-say-verlag,
Hardcover, Fadenbindung, 190 g Naturpapier, 56 bunte Seiten

Rezension

Brigitte ten Brink
Auf verschlungenen Pfaden
Rezension

Angelika Holweger und Gabriele Hartmann: Auf verschlungenen Pfaden. Tan-Renga-Haiga & Renhai; bon-say-verlag, 2020. ISBN 978-3-945890-27-1. Hardcover, Fadenbindung, Format 13,5cm x 21,5 cm, 56 Seiten. 14,00 €. www.bon-say.de

Wer dieses Buch in die Hand nimmt, dem fällt schon, bevor auch nur die erste Zeile gelesen wurde, das künstlerisch anspruchsvolle und wunderbare Layout von Gabriele Hartmann auf. Das nach einem Foto von Angelika Holweger gestaltete Cover in Grün- und Gelbtönen weckt Assoziationen an Bashôs Froschteich, der Titel „Auf verschlungenen Pfaden“ weist auf Geschichten, die ergründet und gefunden werden wollen und die verschiedene Lesarten zu lassen, je nach Betrachtungsfocus und Stimmung des Lesers.

Das Besondere an den Tan-Renga-Haiga ist, dass die Texte nicht in die eigentlichen Bilder eingefügt sind, sondern darunter in die transparenten Spiegelungen dieser Bilder. Diese Spiegelungen wiederholen sich, wiederum gespiegelt, am unteren Rand der jeweils gegenüberliegenden Seiten mit den Renhai – eine Gestaltung, die das Buch allein schon beim Durchblättern zu einem visuellen Genuss macht. Auf jeweils vier Seiten Augenschmaus mit großem Lesegenuss folgt eine Doppelseite Lesegenuss pur mit je einem Renhai auf einer Seite. Die Kürzel „AH“ für Angelika Holweger und „GH“ für Gabriele Hartmann geben Auskunft über die Autorenschaft der Verse. Auf den insgesamt 56 Seiten findet der Leser 16 Tan-Renga-Haiga und 31 Renhai.

Für die künstlerische Gestaltung und Herausgabe dieses Buches wurde Gabriele Hartmann durch die Stiftung Rheinland-Pfalz für Kultur ein Projektstudium gewährt.

Das Buch beginnt, was mir persönlich sehr gut gefällt, mit einem Tan-Renga-Haiga, das den unterschiedlichen geografischen Lebensräumen der beiden Autorinnen Rechnung trägt. Angelika Holweger (AH) wohnt im Süden Deutschlands, Gabriele Hartmann (GH) in der Mitte der Republik, was sich, wenn es gewollt ist, schon mal im sprachlichen Ausdruck niederschlagen kann.

beim Christeele
in seim Lädele eikaufe
für d Kender de graischt Fraid

einander zugeneigt

Vogel und Fisch

AH / GH

Das dazugehörige Foto von Gabriele Hartmann zeigt zwei Holzmasken, die wiederum gut zur „Schwäbisch-Alemannischen Fasnet” passen würden. Besonders bei den Narrenzünften rund um den Bodensee gibt es Masken, die an Vögel und Fische angelehnt sind.

Das Buch enthält durchweg starke Texte, mit starken Versen, die oft alleine als Haiku stehen könnten.

so viel Licht

schweißnasse Haut
eng umschlungen tanzen
zwei Schatten

so viel Licht auf ihren Flügeln
wähle Blende 4

Sternschnuppen
aus der alten Kapelle
himmlische Klänge

GH / AH GH / AH

Ein Renhai beginnt, mit der ersten, fett gedruckten Zeile des zweiten, mittleren Verses. In diesem Fall schrieb sie Angelika Holweger (AH). Gabriele Hartmann (GH) ergänzte die zweite Zeile dieses Verses. Daraufhin verfasste AH den dritten Vers und erst danach GH den ersten, den Anfangsvers.

Die Leidenschaft des ersten Verses, wenn von oben nach unten gelesen wird, weicht im zweiten Vers der sachlichen Überlegung, bei einem Foto die richtige Blende zu wählen, um den Glanz der Flügel einzufangen. Im letzten Vers dann endet sie in einer Nacht voller sinnlicher und spiritueller Eindrücke. In der Reihenfolge der Entstehungsgeschichte des Renhai liest es sich umgekehrt: Erst wird das Licht auf den Flügeln (ein religiöses Symbol oder ein Symbol für die Gotteskraft?) mit einer Kamera eingefangen, dann endet die fast schon sakral wirkende Nacht in Leidenschaft.

Es ist jedoch vollkommen gleichgültig, in welchem Ablauf die Renhai gelesen werden, von oben nach unten, d. h. vom ersten bis zum dritten Vers oder in der Reihenfolge ihrer Entstehung, sie hinterlassen in jedem Fall einen nachhaltigen Eindruck.

Alle Texte in diesem Buch verbinden, wie oben im Beispiel gezeigt, Spiritualität, Emotionalität, Naturereignisse und -schauspiele mit alltäglichen und aktuellen Situationen. Gefühle und Erinnerungen, Familie und andere Beziehungen, Märchenhaftes und Überliefertes und nicht zu vergessen die Musik finden ihren Platz in den Versen der Autorinnen.

verbrämte Worte

so viele Sterne
auf den Flaggen –
überall Himmel

Mutters Bone China
die Wolken tragen Goldlitzen

verbrämte Worte
der Diktator sagt
er wolle nur ihr Bestes

AH / GH AH / GH

Hier steht ein Kaffeetisch mit edlem Porzellan, so zart mit seinem leuchtenden Goldrand wie Wolken beim Sonnenuntergang, als Gegenentwurf zur politischen Realität, in der ein Diktator das Volk auf seine Linie einschwören will. Und dieses Volk schwenkt bereitwillig seine Fahnen mit den vielen Sternen und glaubt an den Himmel. Ich denke beim Lesen sofort an Amerika und einen Präsidenten, der sich an der Macht halten will, indem er das Blaue vom Himmel lügt, aber auch an andere Staaten, in denen Politiker die Alleinherrschaft an sich reißen wollen.

In den Renhai „ohne Maske“ und „geschwätzig“ wird die derzeitige Realität in lyrischer Form und drei Versen auf den Punkt gebracht.

ohne Maske

Dona nobis pacem
wir singen
ohne Maske

ob sie lächelt?
verschleiert ist Luna

tiefe Verneigung
der Chef de Rang begleitet uns
zur Tür

AH / GH AH / GH

geschwätzig

neue Tweets
im Minutentakt – die Menschheit
hält den Atem an

abends die geschwätzigen Spatzen
aus dem bunten Efeu

sie erzählt Spukgeschichten …
viel zu oft füllt er
unsere Gläser

GH / AH GH / AH

Grandios wie Angelika Holweger und Gabriele Hartmann ihre Gedanken auf vielen Ebenen spielen lassen, sie miteinander verknüpfen und dem Leser so wunderbare und vielschichtige kleine Geschichten aus dem Leben und über das Leben erzählen.

Zum Abschluss hatte ich vor, einen Lieblingstext zu zitieren, doch es sind mir so viele ans Herz gewachsen, dass es mir unmöglich ist, einem einzigen den Vorrang zu geben.

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.