Haiku-International No. 149 (November 2020)

/
7 mins read

Selected haiku

Haiku translations: a collaboration between Emiko Miyashita, Claudia Brefeld and Eva Moering

"Here the idea and background of this project can be found.

 

 

Selection and commentary by KOKO Kato, HIA director

午後 の 青 空 / 露 を 残 し て / 白 い 菊

Mostly blue afternoon skies
but some dew lingers -
white chrysanthemum

パ ー ト リ ッ ジ 、 ブ レ ン ト ア ラ ン PARTRIDGE, Brent Alan (USA)

Considering the fact that the author puts a hyphen at the end of the second line, I read out that it is the sky that has a trace of dew in it. The blue sky on an autumn afternoon must be a blue sky with moisture. “Mostly” and “yet” convey how the writer feels. The contrast between the white of the white chrysanthemum on the floor and the blue sky makes this haiku beautiful.

静寂 / 夏 羊 歯 に 囲 ま れ た / 石 仏

the silence …
surrounded by summer ferns
Stone buddha

ロ ス 、 ブ ル ー ス ROSS, Bruce (USA)

The powerful vitality of the summer fern that surrounds the stone Amitabha Buddha is very inviting. Although the “stillness” in the first line is separated by the ellipsis, we still have the feeling that the cosmic expanse belongs to the Stone Buddha. The silence is different than in Basho's “Yamadera” *. This haiku expresses the tranquility of nature and a person's prayer.

* https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e7940.html

白 セ ー ラ ー の 平和 の ち か ひ 慰 霊 の 日

A school girl in a sailor's uniform
vows peace
Okinawa Memorial Day

高橋 紀美子 (神奈川) TAKAHASHI, Kimiko (Kanagawa)

Memorial Day on June 23rd is the day for the memorial service for all war dead in Okinawa. Since 1952 it has been held in the Peace Memorial Park in Mabuni, Itoman City. This year it will take place for the 63rd time. In the park is a "Cornerstone of Peace" with the names of more than 200.000 people who died in the Battle of Okinawa. The ceremony is a prayer for peace and that we will never take part in war. “An oath for peace” from a student in a “sailor” school uniform is a fervent wish of everyone to be remembered in August.

散 り て な ほ 風 に 匂 ひ て 梅 の 花

after falling
the scent lingers in the wind
Plum blossoms

新 田 佐 代 子 (堺) NITTA, Sayoko (Sakai)

The scent of plum blossoms lingers in the beginning when it is in full bloom and even after it has fallen. “After the fall” illustrates the nature of the plum blossom well, this is what characterizes the haiku. When the object is expressed through the before and after states, subtle overtones resonate well.

亀 鳴 い て 神話 の 国 の 山河 あ り

Turtle cries ...
Mountain and rivers
of a mythical land

宮本 よ し え (島 根) MIYAMOTO, Yoshie (Shimane)

The "mythical land" refers to Izumo, including the Izumo Taisha Shrine. It is well known through the book by Koizumi Yakumo (Lafcadio Hearn). Only in such a climate does the seasonal word “turtle cry”, which originated in China, come true. The writer's pride also resonates when he says, “There is a mountain and a river”.

 

And here are five more haiku - selected by Emiko Miyashita

婚約 式 音符 の や う に 雪 の 降 り

Engagement party ...
like musical notes
the snow falls

菊 渡 辺 道 子 (日立) WATANABE, Michiko (Hitachi)

修道 女 の た づ き の 径 や 青 く る み

One way
for the daily work of the nuns ...
green walnut *

三好 か ほ る (埼 玉) MIYOSHI, Kaoru (Saitama)

* It's an early summer kigo - for May. The fruits of a walnut tree are green and do not stand out between the green leaves. Inside the fresh fruit there is a hard core. So here we can assume that it is the monotonous or peaceful life of the nun who has a strong devotion to God.

三 叉路 に と ま ど ふ 蝶 や 春 の 風

at a fork in the road
a butterfly gets lost
in the spring wind

松 中 薫 (神 戸) MATSUNAKA, Kaoru (Kobe)

ハ ン モ ッ ク つ ぎ 来 る 風 を 待 つ て を り

hammock
wait that
the next breeze blows

池 田松蓮 (東京) IKEDA, Shoren (Tokyo)

青 蔦 の 神殿 と な る 空 き 家 か な

left house
entwined with ivy
- green shrine

毬 矢 ま り え (東京) MARIYA, Marie (Tokyo)

Latest from General

ahaiga

www.ahaiga.ch The new edition of ahaiga has been online since April 05.10.2021th, XNUMX. Authors are invited for the new one

Summer grass 134

with many interesting articles about Haiku & Co has appeared. A little taste of the

Haiku Agenda 2022

The new Haiku Agenda 2022 of the DHG With Haiku through the year 2022 The new Haiku Agenda 2022

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit elit, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, dapibus leo pulvinar.

Haiku-International Nr. 149 (November 2020)

/
7 mins read

Ausgewählte Haiku

Übersetzungen der Haiku: eine Zusammenarbeit von Emiko Miyashita, Claudia Brefeld und Eva Moering

»Hier können Idee und Hintergrund zu diesem Projekt nachgelesen werden.

 

 

Auswahl und Kommentierung von KOKO Kato, HIA director

午後の青空/露を残して/白い菊

Nachmittagshimmel zumeist blau
doch etwas Tau verweilt –
weiße Chrysantheme

パートリッジ、ブレント アラン          PARTRIDGE, Brent Alan  (U.S.A.)

In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass der Autor einen Bindestrich am Ende der zweiten Zeile setzt, lese ich heraus, dass es der Himmel ist, der eine Spur von Tau hat. Der blaue Himmel an einem Herbstnachmittag muss ein blauer Himmel mit Feuchtigkeit sein. “zumeist” und “doch” vermitteln, wie der Schreiber fühlt. Der Kontrast zwischen dem Weiß der weißen Chrysantheme auf dem Boden und dem blauen Himmel macht dieses Haiku wunderschön.

静寂/夏羊歯に囲まれた/石仏

die Stille …
umgeben von Sommerfarnen
Stein-Buddha

ロス、ブルース          ROSS, Bruce (U.S.A.)

Die kraftvolle Vitalität des Sommerfarns, der den steinernen Amitabha-Buddha umgibt, ist sehr einladend. Obwohl die “Stille” in der ersten Zeile durch die Auslassungspunkte getrennt ist, haben wir dennoch das Gefühl, dass die kosmische Weite zum Steinbuddha gehört. Die Stille ist anders als in Bashos “Yamadera”*. Dieses Haiku drückt die Ruhe der Natur und das Gebet eines Menschen aus.

* https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e7940.html

白セーラーの平和のちかひ慰霊の日

Ein Schulmädchen in Matrosenuniform
gelobt Frieden
Okinawa-Gedenktag

高橋紀美子(神奈川)          TAKAHASHI, Kimiko (Kanagawa)

Der Memorial Day am 23. Juni ist der Tag für die Gedenkfeier aller Kriegstoten in Okinawa. Seit 1952 wird er im Peace Memorial Park in Mabuni, Itoman City, abgehalten. In diesem Jahr findet er zum 63. Mal statt. Im Park befindet sich ein “Eckstein des Friedens”, mit den Namen von mehr als 200.000 Menschen, die in der Schlacht um Okinawa gefallen sind. Die Zeremonie ist ein Gebet für den Frieden und dass wir uns niemals am Krieg beteiligen werden. “Ein Eid für den Frieden” von einer Schülerin in einer “Matrosen”-Schuluniform ist ein inniger Wunsch aller, sich im August zu erinnern.

散りてなほ風に匂ひて梅の花

nach dem Fallen
verweilt der Duft im Wind
Pflaumenblüten

新田佐代子(堺)          NITTA, Sayoko (Sakai)

Der Duft von Pflaumenblüten verweilt am Anfang in der vollen Blüte und sogar noch nach dem Fallen. “Nach dem Fallen” verdeutlicht gut die Natur der Pflaumenblüten, dies zeichnet das Haiku aus. Wenn das Objekt durch den Vor- und Nachzustand ausgedrückt wird, schwingen subtile Obertöne gut mit.

亀鳴いて神話の国の山河あり

Schildkrötenschreie …
Berg und Flüsse
eines mythischen Landes

宮本よしえ (島根)            MIYAMOTO, Yoshie (Shimane)

Das “mythische Land” bezieht sich auf Izumo, einschließlich des Izumo Taisha-Schreins. Es ist weithin bekannt durch das Buch von Koizumi Yakumo (Lafcadio Hearn). Nur in einem solchen Klima wird das saisonale Wort “Schildkrötengeschrei” wahr, das seinen Ursprung in China hat. Der Stolz des Schriftstellers schwingt auch mit, wenn er sagt: “Es gibt einen Berg und Fluss”.

 

Und hier fünf weitere Haiku – ausgesucht von Emiko Miyashita

婚約式音符のやうに雪の降り

Verlobungsfeier …
wie musikalische Noten
fällt der Schnee

菊渡辺道子 (日立)        WATANABE, Michiko (Hitachi)

修道女のたづきの径や青くるみ

Ein Weg
für die tägliche Arbeit der Nonnen …
grüne Walnuss*

三好かほる (埼玉)          MIYOSHI, Kaoru  (Saitama)

*Es ist ein Frühsommer-Kigo – für den Mai. Die Früchte eines Walnussbaums sind grün und fallen zwischen den grünen Blättern nicht auf. Im Inneren der frischen Frucht befindet sich ein harter Kern. Hier können wir also annehmen, dass es das eintönige oder friedliche Leben der Nonne ist, die eine starke Hingabe für Gott in sich trägt.

三叉路にとまどふ蝶や春の風

an einer Weggabelung
verirrt sich ein Schmetterling
im Frühlingswind

松中薫 (神戸)         MATSUNAKA, Kaoru (Kobe)

ハンモックつぎ来る風を待つてをり

Hängematte
warten, dass
die nächste Brise weht

池田松蓮  (東京)         IKEDA, Shoren (Tokyo)

青蔦の神殿となる空き家かな

verlassenes Haus
von Efeu umschlungen
–grüner Schrein

毬矢まりえ (東京)          MARIYA, Marie (Tokyo)

Latest from Allgemein

eXperimenta

Haiku – Die Kunst des Dichtens Für die eXperimenta Ausgabe 03 / 2021 suchen wir Haiku

ahaiga

Die neue Ausgabe von ahaiga geht am 05.01.2021 online. Autoren/Autorinnen sind eingeladen fürs neue Quartal max.

Sommergras 131

mit vielen interessanten Beiträgen rund um Haiku & Co ist erschienen. Einen kleinen Vorgeschmack auf den

Haiku-Wandkalender 2021

In Kooperation mit der “Berliner Haikugruppe” entstand ein A4-Wandkalender mit originellen Haiku zu jedem Monat. Ergänzt

EnglishGerman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.